Baird T. Spalding

Year of birth : 1953
Education : Mining Engineer in American West
Website :


“ Only Man has the power to forgive sin,

discord and in-harmony, which cause sickness.

It is not God who forgives. ”

“ The greatest attribute of God is Love.

The Tree of Life is located in the very depth of our soul.

The most perfect and abundant fruit that grows and ripens is Life giving Love. ”

“ Living did not become a problem until Man

refused to listen to the inner voice.

When he returns to listening He will seize to labor

for the means of living, but will work for the joy of creating. ”

Books by the Master

" Life and teaching of the masters of the Far East (6 Volumes) "


Baird T Spalding was a prominent American author and mystic whose six volume series ‘Life and Teaching of the Masters of the Far East’ sold over two million copies in the first half of the twentieth century. Spalding claimed to have visited India and Tibet with a research team in 1894 and met with immortal masters. His work is one of the definitive ‘magical autobiographies’ and remains an inspiration to many New Age authors today. Despite the popularity of his work, Spalding’s personal history remains obscure, and much of the material propagated about him today is not factual.

He is the author of the spiritual book series: Life and Teaching of the Masters of the Far East. In 1924 Spalding published the first volume of Life and Teaching of the Masters of the Far East. It describes the travels to India and Tibet of a research party of eleven scientists in 1894. During their trip they claim to have made contact with "the Great Masters of the Himalayas", immortal beings with whom they lived and studied, gaining a fascinating insight into their lives and spiritual message. This close contact enabled them to witness many of the spiritual principles evinced by these Great Masters translated into their everyday lives, which could be described as 'miracles'. Such examples are walking on water, or manifesting bread to feed the hungry party.

These books have remained consistently popular with spiritual seekers, those interested in the philosophy of the East and those who enjoy a good story because of their accessible nature and easy-to-follow format. Spalding published three additional volumes before his death in 1953.